Collaborative wikis

Automated permissioning.

Although wikis are often about capturing information from an indefinite amount of contributors, in a classroom context teachers need to have some control over this.

That’s why the Wiki module is configured to automatically grant edit rights to student users who have signed in, and not to any anonymous page visitors. Additionally, access is restricted to just the Wiki module, so students don’t need to be given general page permissions—and risk accidentally deleting other class content or modules!

Version restoration.

Mistakes are a natural part of the learning process and shouldn’t get in the way of progress.

So in the Wiki module, if an edit has compromised the accuracy of the content or inadvertently removed information that was submitted by someone else, teachers can dip into the version history and retrieve the page component required or restore to the previous document state.

Change comparisons.

If multiple contributors have edited a single wiki page, it can be hard to tell where one edit stops and another begins. Fortunately, this edit history is stored within the Wiki module’s database, so teachers can easily preview who made what changes and at what time.

When using the compare feature, the changes between the two versions will be displayed using colour coding. Red text with a strikeout indicates deleted content, and green text indicates content that has been added. Users also have the option to add a ‘note’ when making edits, so their reasons can be recorded alongside the version.

Using these features, teachers can now tell how much an individual student may have contributed to a group activity, as well as encourage them to reflect on and explain their contributions.